If you have a fire or water emergency, please call us now at (570) 822-4700

To have the optimal experience while using this site, you will need to update your browser. You may want to try one of the following alternatives:

Fire & Water - Cleanup & Restoration

Do you know the three categories of water damage?

12/24/2022 (Permalink)

Water damage comes in the form of three different categories. The main difference between these categories is how polluted or unsanitary the water is. The higher the category, the more pollutants can be found within.

The first category of water damage is the most common occurrence and is called Clean Water loss. The water in a category one loss is relatively clean and mostly free of pollutants that are dangerous to handle or ingest. Cleaning and restoration work can be done quickly when dealing with this category of water loss.

The second category of water damage is known as Gray Water. Gray water contains a moderate amount of contaminants inside and can cause illness and discomfort for any that may accidentally ingest it. Water sources that produce gray water are things like dishwashers, toilet overflows that contain urine, and other types of "used" water.

The final category of water damage is Black Water which deals with water from dangerously unsanitary sources. When dealing with water from this category, serious illness and even death are potential dangers should it be ingested. Black water-producing sources are things like sewage backups, rising river or stream water, floodwater, and toilet water containing fecal matter.

Combating water damage is more than simply removing the water from your home. Knowing what could potentially be in the water, and how to properly handle it helps homeowners know where and how to start with any water emergency!

Other News

View Recent Posts